am i pro-life

Am I pro-life?  This is a question I’ve never asked myself, because I’ve never needed to.  Of course I’m pro-life.  I hate abortion.  God hates abortion.  So there’s no other option in my mind than to be pro-life.  It’s my main political issue…really the only one that makes a big enough impact on my voting patterns (ie: the only issue I care about).

However, in the last two years I’ve been challenged that being pro-life means more than just being anti-abortion.  I’ve been praying for the ending of abortion for many years…for women to give their babies life…but am I ready to be the answer to those prayers?  I think I am finally willing.  Am I ready?  Probably not.  Do I know what the heck I’m getting myself into?  Nah.  But what first time parent does?  What I do know is that my desire to rescue a baby gets stronger and stronger every day and now God has placed me in a community that is going after this reality hard. 

Last week Bart and I attended an info meeting about The Zoe Foundation and Hannah’s Dream Adoption Agency.  If you want to know more, feel free to click on this link to watch a video- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IFi343ZLRc0  or go to thezoefoundation.com or hannahsdream.com.  What struck me most, even though I’ve heard the question many times was this: “If you want abortion to end in America…what will happen to the 4,000 babies who would have been aborted every day?”  Now, I don’t believe everyone needs to adopt- some people are called to pray or give financially or help out in other ways… but my prayer is that the church will wake up and be the answer- however that looks.

For us, it looks like a child…a little Farrell…that we get to love and cherish and discipline and pray for and cuddle…this baby may be a boy or a girl, black or white, big or little…we have no idea.  But we do know that God is already placing love in our hearts for this little one and it’s so beautiful.  I am writing this, partly to inform you and partly to ask for your prayers and support.  We need it.

And…we’ll be sure and keep you posted about what’s next in this journey.

2 responses to “am i pro-life

  1. can’t wait to hear more tomorrow. So excited and praying for you guys…

  2. amy (african teaching buddy)

    Woo Hoo!! :o)

Leave a Reply

