my second favorite

The Fall is like taking your first breath after almost drowning.  It’s like the moment your power goes back on after a long power outage.  It’s one of those things that needs to be on your “best things in life” list.  Autumn is a necessity for me- at least living here in the Midwest.  After suffocating through this 100 degree loooooong summer, the air finally feels cooler.  I am in love.  The fact that my windows are open (mostly bc our AC is broken but…) and I am wearing a hoodie and sweats at 8am tells me that it’s Fall.

This last weekend I bribed my husband with dinner if he would take me to Lowes to get me a $5 Mum plant for our front door…well, beside our front door.  And after a very girly baby shower I’m throwing on Saturday, I am pulling out the “Fall decor” box from the basement.  That means it really is Fall.

Yesterday was the first time that I didn’t feel dumb dressing my baby in a hoodie.  I think some people kept their comments to themselves when they found him in a hoodie this summer- when it was 99 degrees out.  I just couldn’t help myself.  And one of the sure signs of fall is when Starbucks announces the return of the pumpkin spice latte.  I only ever get these from September to November, because after Thanksgiving day then I must begin the peppermint white mocha yearly tradition.  Last night I ventured out alone in an attempt to run errands twice as fast without Josi…it totally worked by the way.  But my first stop on that slightly chilly, drizzly night was for my first pumpkin spice latte of the season.  I could almost taste Thanksgiving day.  And if you don’t know me, that day is very significant because it means I can begin decorating for Christmas…which is by far my very favorite holiday!  Plus it signals that my birthday- which I love- is a week away.  Who wouldn’t love the month of December when they get to celebrate all month long?  Anyway, coming back from that tangent- Fall is here…Awhhhh (that is a satisfied deep breath taken and released).

Minus the fact that I am still drinking coconut coffee- shoot, I gotta finish it; and the sad reality that it will probably still reach the 80 degree mark today…I am grateful for this change of pace.  In fact, I may head out through my front door and sit in my adirondack chair just to stare at my orangey/red mum for a few minutes…relishing the fact that this Fall is my baby’s first one- and he is going to look so cute in pumpkin pictures.  He looks great in orange…he’s lucky, because I don’t.  Alas.

my josi-bear yesterday...on our first Fall day

4 responses to “my second favorite

  1. Oh…you just captured it! Everyone I know needs to read this post. I LOVE fall. This morning I did a little dance in the kitchen because there was a little chill in the air and I loved it. And nothing excites me like the pumpkin spice latte’s return! Joy of joys! Fall is HERE!!!!! 🙂

  2. My thoughts on fall exactly!

  3. Seriously!!! Oh my goodness– I agree- I LOVE FALL! I can’t wait to move into my new place and get out all my fall stuff 🙂

  4. It’s genetic, Krista….I love fall the very best too! Barb and I were talking about it and she couldn’t understand why you like it…in Cordova, it starts raining and the birds all fly south and the cold is just around the corner…that’s why she doesn’t like it…but I sure do!And as for the lattes…I am holding out for the eggnog ones! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

