crock pot wife

Epiphany #139 about myself.  I get tired from the day…and it usually hits around 5:30pm.  Sadly, this is about a half hour before my beloved husband arrives home from work.  It’s also the time that I would normally start cooking dinner.  So, basically…I quit doing it.  Yep, gasp loudly if you must…but I literally began motherhood and quit wifery.  Ok, it’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I’m pretty sure my husband would agree that he’s eaten more than his share of frozen food items in the last 4 months.

During Josiah’s first few months, I would wake up tired (if I got to wake up, as in, if I got to sleep) so the idea of doing anything productive in the morning flew out the window.  In fact, the word “productivity” slightly annoyed me, because I never felt like I produced anything but a mostly happy and fed baby…which people say that’s enough.  And I would agree, except for my overwhelming need for feel productive on some level that I’m used to.  So, in those days, by the time the evening rolled around, I was even more exhausted than the morning because I usually did not heed the age old advice of “nap when your baby naps”.  The thought of cooking made me want to gag…not literally- but figuratively, and I just couldn’t do it.

Fast forward to last week- when I returned home from a vacation…exhausted and refreshed…and confused at how that both could happen simultaneously.  It donned on me, that now that my sweet baby boy sleeps through the night, so can I.  I shouldn’t mention that he has slept through the night for the last 2 months, because then it means that I should have had this epiphany months ago.  Oh well.  Anyway, this, in turn, meant I feel much more refreshed when the morning comes around.  Thus, I should attempt to be productive in the morning.  *ding ding- lightbulb* I should cook dinner in the morning.  What?  How can I do that?  I have one word for you- crock pot.  Okay, it’s two words…but you get the point.

In the past 5 days, I have made chili, chicken pot pie, chicken wings, and currently roasting in my new favorite appliance is enchilada chicken.  On the docket for the rest of the week… pot roast and cheesy broccoli chicken bake, all to be prepared in the morning and ready by the evening.  And just to be clear, I am not a fan of the crock pot recipes that require a lot of cooking outside of the pot itself…that basically negates the beauty of this cooking style, I believe.  So, with the exception the chili which required browned beef, I have only had to dump ingredients and set a timer.  Fabulous.

Phew, just writing about all this makes me tired though.  Oh, that’s because it’s 5:30pm.  Luckily, my husband will be on  business trip most of next week, so the crock pot can rest and recharge.  And so can I.

Recipes will follow…when I per-fect the “6-8 hours on low” idea…sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t.  Just sayin.

8 responses to “crock pot wife

  1. that would be “dawned” on me….not “donned”…is that because you are so tired??? Your spell-checker 🙂

  2. I love crock pot cooking too! My favorite is a recipe for flank steak burritos – Yum!

  3. Krista!

    Thank goodness! I am not the only one! I am totally with you! I want to use our crockpot so badly, and never go for it. I’ve only done a few things like chili or a roast. Kind of fearful of trying new recipes that are not recommended by a friend. I would love to know how your recipes turn out and if it’s worth it. The timing thing is a tough one isn’t it?

    Blessings on your crockpot adventures!

  4. I just got a crock pot a few weeks ago for the exact same reason. I’m full of energy in the morning, but don’t even want to think about anything but my couch when I get home from work.

    Look at this book: http://www.amazon.com/Cooking-Light-Essential-Recipe-Collection/dp/0848730682. They’re easy and healthy!

  5. I have really enjoyed the crock pot too! You are an amazing servant so I am always looked out for 🙂 Thanks for being you and for being so self-less 🙂 chicky enchiladies were phenomenal!

  6. Post the recipes! I’m very interested in easy cooking and I just used my crock pot for the first time this month! I made chili and a pot roast 🙂 But I’d love to know your recipes for the wings, enchiladas and pot pie!

  7. You’re a genius! I must heed this crock pot wisdom! ((just need to go buy a crock pot first…))

  8. Caroline Stutzman

    I bought a crock pot just a few weeks after Emily was born! They are fantastic. Nice to know I’m not alone on this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

