beauty around the corner

The fact that my blog header photo is a seagull shows how far I’ve come in life.

I used to loathe seagulls since the day one pooped on my neck in the middle of lunch my freshman year of high school.  It was gross and I glared at them for many years following.  Since I grew up near the water, seagulls were more of a nuisance than anything else- not a very pretty bird by any means either.

But now they remind me that the ocean is not far away.  It’s like they are a signal of beauty just around the corner.  When I see them, I almost immediately take a deep breath, because I know I will be able to smell the salty water in the air.

I guess you could call me a seagull lover now.  But only because of what they represent…not what they produce.

Leave a Reply

