g.r.a.t.e.f.u.l.

I am reading a book that talks about the power of gratitude- of how much a thankful heart overflows into a waterfall of giving and loving and not expecting anything in return.

And so, even though it’s not Thanksgiving, I’m going to reflect on what I’m thankful for- right here and now.

I am thankful to Jesus- for his lovingkindness and mercies that are new every single morning.  As often as I mess up, He never runs out of forgiveness and love.  I am thankful for His tender prods in the right direction and the way He gently puts pressure on me to follow in His footsteps.  I am thankful for His example of sacrificial love.

I am thankful for my husband.  He is the best human I know.  I am thankful for his passion for Jesus and how he never gives up, in spite of all that life has thrown at him.  I am thankful for his strength and his determination to love God, me, and Josiah so well.  I am thankful for his cute little smiles that constantly turn my frowns upside down.

I am thankful for my son.  I am thankful for his cuddles and his sweet touch.  I am thankful for the way he doesn’t wake up until 9am every morning and doesn’t need to get out of bed until 10am.  I am  thankful for the way he leans his cheek into my lips for endless kisses.  I am thankful for his laughs and the joy he brings to our family.

I am thankful for my family; who I get to see in less than two weeks.  I am thankful that my parents still open their home and ask me what I want for dinner while I’m there.  I am thankful for the way they get excited to see me and Josiah…and the fact that my sister took lots of days off to spend with us!

I am thankful for the sunshine.  It’s been awhile since bright light has come naturally through my windows and I love how it makes life better.  It makes me look forward to pulling the plastic kid pool out and showing Josi what a sandbox is.

I am thankful for my home that I can change whenever I want.  After renting for so many years, I still carry the residue of fear about putting a nail into the wall and then I remember that we own this house and I can nail every inch of every wall if I feel like it.  I am thankful for paint too, because it keeps life interesting.

I am thankful for the new life growing inside our baby’s birthmom right now.  It’s crazy to think that Lord willing, in 5 months, we’ll be sitting in a Florida hospital meeting our new baby.  And right now I’m really thankful that updating a home study is not nearly as time consuming as the first one.

I am thankful for my iphone (didn’t think i would leave that out, did you?).  I am thankful for the convenience and entertainment it brings me, as well as the wealth of information it holds.  I am thankful for its sleek beautiful look because I just feel cooler with it.

I am thankful that we get to travel with Bart every month.  It makes weeks like these when he’s gone much more bearable because they are few and far between.  We miss you already honey.

I’m thankful for basketball right now and cadbury eggs- which I have yet to eat this season.  I am thankful for my freshly washed subaru -thanks to Bart 🙂  and I am thankful for my dog who makes me feel safe, when B is not here.

I am hoping that cultivating a thankful heart every day will make me remember how good God is, all the time.  Because that’s what He is.

One response to “g.r.a.t.e.f.u.l.

  1. Love it! So true- thanks for the reminder! I’m SO thankful that you are coming out and I get a few days off! I cannot tell you how stoked I am that next week is Spring Break, which means we will only have like 15 kids (Hopefully!) And I am super thankful that my dad and brother are dentists, because I think I have a cavity!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

