motherhood confessional time.

Yep, it’s that time again.  I realized it’s been too long without showing the “real” mothering that is going on behind this screen.  Preface:  I love my boys.

My 5 month old baby sleeps on a pillow, and he is covered with a down comforter.  I waited until Josi was 18 months old to put a pillow in his crib…but the second one- well, whatever works is my motto.

Josiah got a bath the day before we left for Christmas vaca- Dec. 16.  His next bath took place the second week of January.  I do have to say his hair looked amazing- not frizzy and he actually didn’t smell.  I also realize those are not good reasons for withholding a bath from my eldest son.

I cut all of Regan’s baby fuzz hair off.

I have been trying to capitalize on Josiah’s desire to help…by teaching him how to clean up his brother’s spit up and comforting him when he cries…next stop: diaper changing. 🙂

Poor Regan often wears the same polarfleece sleeper for days at a time.

Every single time I go to the bathroom now, I sing an annoying one word song for Jos that goes like this “potty, potty, potty…”  But I figure, my one hit wonder worked for “clean up” because now he totally puts away his toys when I sing the clean up song…which sounds more like an annoying chant “clean up, clean up, clean up.”  Yes, I am desperately looking forward to a potty trained child- can you tell?

When I feed Regan in the middle of the night, I prop the bottle up slightly and then simulataneously change his diaper- all while never moving him from his crib and almost all in the dark.  I think actually this is more of a talent than a confession bc I am very proud of my multi-tasking skills.

Sometimes I think about buying a fake hand or even just a set of plastic fingers so Regs doesn’t notice when I leave him alone.

Ever since Regan joined our family, Josiah has been fed finger food- actually it’s more like he is forced to eat everything with his fingers, even if it’s not considered finger food- hehe.  And I’ve been too lazy to teach him how to use a spoon.  I am thinking about offering extra $ to our babysitter if she gives him lessons.

Some days I thank God for the Johnny Jump-up multiple times.

I actually allowed Jos to watch Clifford episodes for almost 2 hours this week.  I told myself “I’m testing his attention span and building it up.” heheh

I really enjoy reading books to my son…but after about the tenth one sometimes I start just flipping the pages and actually saying the words “blah blah blah”.  Okay, sometimes I start that on the 3rd book…and to think, I was an elementary school teacher. *gasp*

And as promised…my replies…

Sally K.- Thanks for putting me in your google reader- that gives me nice warm fuzzies inside.  You’re nice to still like me, even tho I got a little cuckoo in college.  Now, when is a mini red-headed Sally joining the fam? hint hint

Eliza Joy- Sometimes I think it’s funny that you read my blogs bc there must be so much repeat.  Like over the last week I’m pretty sure I told you every single one of these confessions.  But, I do have you to thank for the final push/inspiration to start this blog in the first place…I’m just wondering if I need to give you some gentle shoving down your road to emmaus.  After we learn to crochet. k?

Last but certainly not least- Happy Birthday to the world’s most amazing birthmom on the planet.  We are praying for you and hope you feel God’s love today, on your special day.  Lots of love!!

One response to “motherhood confessional time.

  1. Pingback: confessions of a potty trainer | For some reason...

Leave a Reply

