moms on their day

I knew becoming a mom would be like nothing I’d ever experienced.  But I thought perhaps I’d be used to it by now.  Usually two years into any given job a person often shrugs their shoulders; knowing what’s expected of them and what tomorrow holds.

But motherhood- its wholly other than.  I have never cried more tears in my entire life…and not just because I’ve fallen in love with two precious boys or because I was over-tired or hormones were kicking in…or Bart flew away again.  No, I even cry at tv shows in the blink of an eye.  I am a freakin’ waterworks now.  It’s as though something changed in my dna…but I like it.  It’s tenderizing me.

There are days when I look at my sons and shake my head.  I am so in awe of my job.  No one gets to spend every single day with these little boys…and I am blessed.  I wanted to thank their beautiful self-less birth mom today, on Mothers Day- for giving me the gift of motherhood.  She didn’t have to choose me.  But thank you, from the bottom of my heart.  I have never been given a better gift than the one you gave, twice.  We are praying for you often and hope that God is taking care of you in ways that make you feel loved and cared for.  You are in our hearts forever.

And to my own mom, who gave me the gift of life…and suffered through so much drama throughout the first 20 years of my existence- okay, I know I’m still drama.  But thank you Mom, for loving me in the most amazing ways and giving of yourself every single day.  And thanks for loving dad.  Thank you for showing me the sacrifice of motherhood.

Happy Mothers Day to all.

One response to “moms on their day

  1. Ah, now I am crying…Mom

Leave a Reply

