i do miss it

When people ask if I miss the midwest, I almost always reply with a resounding no…but I always qualify it with “but we loved the people and the ministry…” and usually leave it at that.  And while I am really enjoying life here in Jersey, there are a few things I find myself missing about Kc (besides of course, friends).

I miss Starbucks drive-thrus with a passion.  Sometimes that trip was the only one of the day and it made me so happy.  I miss Starbucks in Target…that was a grand combination that made my shopping trips even more heavenly.

I miss the slower pace…the empty feeling grocery stores…the lack of traffic at all hours of the day…the quiet.  I miss the easy access to stores and stuff…I miss Hobby Lobby and World Market.

I miss not using stairs…I actually miss carpet, which I never thought I’d say.

However, I am so excited about this new chapter of life…that the joy outweighs the missing.  I’m grateful for that.

this one LOVES the snow...was perfectly content out there

this one LOVES the snow…was perfectly content out there

not a great pic but literally- he hates the snow. his gloves came off, which has happened multiple times now- so "snow" equals freezing hands and sadness for this guy

not a great pic but literally- he hates the snow. his gloves came off, which has happened multiple times now- so “snow” equals freezing hands and sadness for this guy

DSC_0077

ps. i bought special gloves that came last week…they won’t come off. we’ll see if he ever actually wants to venture in the snow again. alas.

 

2 responses to “i do miss it

  1. “The joy outweighs the missing…” The missing remains, but the joy is abundant. I love it. So excited for this journey for the Farrell Family Five too. 🙂

  2. We miss you guys!! Even though we hardly ever saw each other, I always feel sad driving by your house on Winchester and knowing you’re not in there.

    BUT, I then remind myself that you are on my favorite coast and just a few steps away from the ocean. And then I feel happy again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

