happy birthday regan ocean

My baby is two.  I am kinda in shock.  Regan is my promise baby- his middle name reminds me often of when God gave me the verse He gave Abraham so long ago- that his descendants would be as many as the sands of the ocean (says sea but I took liberties).  When I worried we’d not be able to adopt any more babies, God spoke.

And I am soooooo seriously grateful for the gift He gave us in Regan.  From the moment he wakes up, quite literally, he smiles and fills our house with joy.  As he toddles around on the flattest feet I’ve ever seen, there is bounce in his every step.  He dances to his own beats, he talks with his very own language, and he reaches decibles with his voice that no human could match.  He’s amazing.

Regan gives endless kisses…he leans his head down for hugs…he shows his love with little pats that sometimes come across pretty strong- hehe.  He says no but means yes and he pronounces words with such flare that you’d think he was in drama class.  Just this week he learned “beach” and it cracks me up every single time he says it.  You just never know what you’re gonna get with our little Geegs; but you’ll almost always find a smile.  Unless you’re new and he is in public surrounded by tons of people- then he turns into clingy-mc-clingerson and pretends he’s shy and quiet.

It cracks me up that the Regan many people see is nothing like who we see.  I have really embraced his personality lately tho- letting him be quiet and stay close as he needs to but always providing opportunities for him to venture.  He is his own little person- so complex yet so simple.  When he falls, he stops to think about how he’s feeling before letting out a cry…but usually he clammers back up and moves on without even a whimper.  When he’s ever sad a quick round of Jesus loves me soothes him completely.

His laugh is my favorite.  His smile lights up his entire face.  His eyes are deep wells that stare into your soul- for reals, I’m not the only one who says this.  His hair is rockin’ awesome and we’re not cutting it (that’s what we did on Josiah’s 2nd birthday).  We actually got to celebrate Regan’s 2nd birthday in Cannon Beach, Oregon while we were there with my family.  I thought the beach would be a perfect back drop for my baby’s birthday…since he eats sand and salt water like it’s his job.  And I’ve never seen a kid more covered in sand- even over his eyelids- it’s a phenomenon- actually the cool part is that he doesn’t even mind.

Just this morning as I finally got out of bed to rescue him from his crib, bleary-eyed from a late night…he whispered “hiiiiiiii” so loudly I couldn’t help but smile.  He has a gift.  He is a gift.  I am so excited to see who he is becoming…such a unique beautiful soul- I love him.

So happy birthday my sweet baby geegs.  You are still our baby…at least for a little while longer.  I love you more than I ever thought possible.

*below are a few pics of our favorite birthday boy on his last cross country trip before he turned 2. so glad he gets a seat on the airplane from now on 🙂 *

DSC_0108 DSC_0062 DSC_0137 DSC_0191 DSC_0034 DSC_0578 DSC_0577 DSC_0016 DSC_0041

2 responses to “happy birthday regan ocean

  1. Regan,
    Happy Birthday little regs!! I miss waking up to those piercing eyes and smiling face… I hope you have a WONDERFUL day– I just can’t believe you’re two.
    Love you so much!
    Auntie Erica

  2. My sweetie Geegie! I love you buddy!

Leave a Reply

