read it.

These kind of posts are easy and quick, just what I can handle right now. Without further ado- what I’ve been reading lately:

I am in the middle of Five Days At Memorial which is a true account of the Hurricane Katrina disaster inside of Memorial Hospital.  It’s intense but so interesting…a very long book but I’m captivated.  **and I am adding this note a few weeks later- I cannot get through this book. HA! Perhaps I’ll try again later.

I read The Lost Wife  in one day.  Yes, I was sick so it happened to be when I had no distractions too thanks for a lovely husband.  But it’s a story from the Holocaust; heart-wrenching but intricately woven together.  Loved it.

The Best of Me was pretty good.  I am a sort-of fan of Nicholas Sparks because I know his stories will always keep me interested enough to finish a book usually but often won’t leave me thinking it was the best thing I’ve ever read.  So- this was good but not amazing.

On the spiritual end of the spectrum, I have loved Henri Nouwen’s literature for awhile and when I saw that he’d written about mourning, I ordered the book- Turn My Mourning into Dancing.  I’m only one chapter in and it has already been  life changing.  I am still working through some grief surrounding our failed adoption this spring and I bawled for a long time while reading just one chapter.  God is definitely using it to continue the healing process of my heart- and I’m so thankful.

Paper to Petal is not a book to read…while that sounds weird.  It’s a gorgeous ‘coffee table/decorative’ book I guess you could say.  It also shows how paper flowers are made in millions of different ways.  Mostly I love it because it is seriously  beautiful.  My other favorite “pretty” flower book is called The Flower Recipe book and it shows how to make all kinds of amazing bouquets.

Leave a Reply

