happy 3rd birthday regan

DSC_0356Oh my sweet Regan Ocean.  Even writing his name invokes an involuntary smile on my face.  This boy is one of a kind in the most intriguing ways.  I have not figured him out, not even close, and I love that.  He is simple and complex, loud and shy, calm and crazy…the most opposite of traits glued together to make up  my precious second born.

The Geegs, as he is affectionately known, has the most beautiful bright white smile I have ever seen.  I love walking into his room in the morning and being the first to receive his lit up face- and the first to get his deepest snuggles.  He might be turning three, but in many ways he’s still the baby.  He gobbles up Maya’s baby food and loves to be carried whenever someone is willing.  He still uses a binky to sleep and diapers to do his business.

I love the way he’s obsessed with shoes and chocolate…kinda like a teenage girl.  I love the way he loves his brother and sister- in such different ways, but so sweetly.  While he’s super independent, he does follow Josiah around often and mimics him in peculiar ways.  Jos can get him to repeat words endlessly and chase him whenever he wants.  But Regan and Maya are so precious to watch.  It took Regs a little time to warm up to his baby sister, but now their friendship is adorable.  He calls her sweetie and makes her giggle endlessly, and although he tends to assert his authority with strong no-no’s because he thinks he can…more often than not, I find them laughing together in a corner.

I love his incessant singing in the car, especially when he catches the exact inflection of the singer.  I love that he would choose his rain boots over anything and often sleeps with them on.  His “terrified” face makes us die laughing (don’t worry it shows itself when around giant stuffed bears and plastic lobsters…it’s not like we are truly scaring him).  I love the way he laughs- so full of life and infectious.  I love when he stares into my eyes so deeply I can’t imagine what he’s thinking and how tender his heart is right after he gets corrected.  It’s written all over his face…his every emotion.

I love Regan’s smooth skin, his perfect teeth with one chip in the front one.  I love how concentrated he gets when giving a thumbs up and how proud of himself he is after somersaults.  I love the way he has started warming up to people a little more now but also how I still get to be his safe zone.  I love his funny expressive words like Wampa for Grandpa, Puuyeah for Pool, and Watupoos for octopus and how he emphasizes certain syllables as if he’s Greek or something.  He’s so unique, so quirky, so absolutely hilarious.

Some days I can’t even handle the fact that he’s my son- how did I get so blessed?  He is such a precious little boy and I want to love him in all the ways he needs.  He is so clearly not his brother, and while I appreciate the differences- there are times I forget.  Reegs looks at me with such love and I can’t even describe how it makes me feel.  It is an honor to spend each day with such an incredible little human.

I love you forever my son.  Happy Birthday.

DSC_0205 DSC_0267 DSC_0289 DSC_0291 DSC_0330 DSC_0372 DSC_0387 DSC_0412 DSC_0417 DSC_0429 DSC_0449 DSC_0524 DSC_0655

One response to “happy 3rd birthday regan

  1. Sweetie Geegie! I LOVE this little man. HUGE blessing to be able to be your daddy 😄

Leave a Reply

