leaving on a jet plane #251

I love Wednesday mornings in my home because it’s all perfectly clean.  We are hosting a Bible study on Tuesday nights so it’s a huge scramble beforehand to ensure our house isn’t a disaster and then I get to reap the benefits when I wake up in the morning.  This morning was particularly early, as I heard Bart get ready for work and couldn’t fall back asleep, then thought it would be a perfect time to read my Bible.  Just as I stepped out my bedroom door I heard a little voice…Regan.  Normally I’d probably leave him in his room for a bit, but he’s no longer in a crib, so the amount of mischief available is exponentially more than before.  Would I rather clean pen marks off the wall later, or get him up with me and save the stress?  I opted for cuddle time and Bears (his fav movie right now) and still got a little Bible/Journal/Jesus time in.

I am headed on a little trip to see my family in Washington this week with just my oldest son.  I think I’m too excited to sleep.  I thought that kind of thing would stop when I became an adult.  Being so giddy I lay awake til one am and waking up at 6am?!

But I have reason to be giddy.  Not only do I get to see my family who I love…this is also the best traveling situation I’ve had in a long time.  I don’t have to plan ahead for formula, strollers, diapers/wipes, baby food… nothing!!!  It hit me the other day that this will be the first time I won’t have to change diapers for 4 whole days?!?!  How did I get so lucky?  No bouncing baby on my lap for 6 long flight hours…no stressing about ear pressure or trying to get someone to sleep while traveling.  I am sure it’ll be exhausting, just because we aren’t arriving in Seattle until midnight our time but I don’t even care because I can sleep in if I want to.  I told my dad that when Josiah wakes up early, he will be instructed not to talk to me but go straight upstairs to their bed.  hehe.

I’m trying not to have huge expectations for this trip, because Lord knows I tend to get disappointed when I think too hard about anything.  But I am just believing that Jesus wants to give Josiah and me an adventure together!  It’s kinda fun that I did this trip with just Josiah four years ago exactly.  He was just 5 months old when I brought him to Washington for the first time…to show him off to everyone- meeting my little bear, going to the pumpkin patch, probably what we will do this time as well.  I’ll be sure and post a then and now picture- he was in his prime chub months then.

So, let’s just say I’m excited.  I’m ready for a little out-of-the-ordinary vacation-from-my-normal-life.  Thanks Bart…you have the hard job this time around.

 

Leave a Reply

