the most wonderful time ever

DSC_0002 DSC_0050DSC_0032

My title might be a little overstating…I have had more wonderful times but not recently.  So- as I wrote a post ago, I got to fly across the US to see my family and only brought one child.  The one child who is diaper-less, has a very long attention span (read: great on airplanes), sleeps through the night, and loves independence (read: didn’t need me around).

It was a dream.  Josiah had the time of his life and I got to relax…with no responsibility whatsoever, except to maybe try and limit my son’s sugar intake, but heck, it’s kinda the grandparents time to shine, so I pretty much let go.  We went to restaurants (something we rarely do with our children) and hiked, visited lots of family and the pumpkin patch… one day josiah went on an adventure with his grandpa, uncle and cousins without me- and I got to go shopping!  Seriously, it was grand.  In the mornings I would send Jos upstairs before I was ready to get out of bed, and he would get special time with grandma or grandpa.  The only hard part is always the time difference and since I wasn’t there too long, I basically left just as my body was acclimating.  Oh well.  It was SO worth it.

My most favorite part of this trip was our hike to Mary Mere Falls.  I grew up hiking around the Pacific Northwest… so I’ve probably done this particular hike more than 100 times.  I didn’t always appreciate it as much as I wish I had, but there was always a trail to be found and an adventure to be had. This was Josiah’s first “real hike”…although pretty darn easy, it was still exciting for me to watch him conquer it and love it so much.  And the best part was how he and my dad would run ahead and hide behind trees, then jump out to scare us…exactly what my dad and I would do when I was a kid.  It brought back such fun memories and made me thankful yet again, for where I grew up.  Below is a sequence of him hiding, then jumping out to scare us…which he and my dad did over and over and over.DSC_0008 DSC_0009DSC_0010

this one CRACKS me up. we told him to hide again...and then took a picture. I love that he keeps his eyes closed when he hides.

this one CRACKS me up. we told him to hide again…and then took a picture. I love that he keeps his eyes closed when he hides.

So thank you bart, for letting this happen.  Not only did you take care of our other two rascals, you also managed a plethora of other amazing feats while I was gone.  You are a rockstar and my favorite human in the world.  Thanks mom and dad, for giving us such an amazing time in your home and always being such a comforting place to come.  Thanks brother, for feeding my son his first soda…he’ll probably never forget it- ha!  It was great to watch the boys bond.   And last but not least, thank you erica, for always picking up a tired sister at the airport, being willing to sleep on the couch and loving me so well, even when I won’t go to the movies with you.

ENJOY these pics of the one of the most beautiful places I know.

DSC_0166 DSC_0171 DSC_0055 DSC_0043 DSC_0125 DSC_0077 DSC_0058DSC_0027DSC_0187DSC_0211DSC_0282DSC_0300DSC_0295DSC_0309

One response to “the most wonderful time ever

  1. LOVE! Also I got to go to a movie yesterday, so alls good. 😉 55ish days till I see ya’ll again!!!!

Leave a Reply

