streams of consciousness

I will admit, I had to google how to spell that C word in the title.  It’s just so tricky. Alas.

So- for those of you who don’t know, I am attempting Whole30 which is a great eating plan/detox that I’ve tried before and failed at…but this time I’m doing it with 3 awesome girls and since we text everyday, I feel committed.  I mean, I made zoodles tonight for our spaghetti, and I don’t even have a spiralizer yet.  I’ve decided that will be one of my prizes for finishing all 30 days.  Of course, I want to eat like this 80% of the time after the 30 days, if I can do it…it’s just that good.

Car lines.  I think I should rename this simple term with a better description: “Sit in my car with 2 tinies not moving, except once for 15 seconds when they move the cones, for 30 minutes?!?  WHAT.THE.HECK?!  Today was my first time picking up Josiah from school at the end of the school day- he had been doing two mornings a week but was sad every single time I came to get him in the middle of everything.  Poor kid…so we extended his schooling and he was literally like a walking zombie when he finally showed up at “Car Line” aka: see above rename, but super happy.  I don’t even want to think about the fact that I may have to see that “Car Line” every single day for seemingly the rest of my life.  UGH.

We recently purchased a small gum ball machine for shameless bribery…ONLY FOR A DINNER eaten.  Regan eats anything for the most part, but Josiah has been much trickier and I’ve never wanted to have that child who lives on chicken nuggets and cheese sticks forever- so in an effort to start the New Year and the rest of his life right- he gets a gum ball if he eats his entire plate of food.  He learned of gum balls in Washington, and is obsessed with them…so heck, we figured let’s do this!  Hoping we can phase out a reward for eating at some point, but for now it works so I am happy.  Side note: This problem is coming from the baby/toddler who would literally house an entire bag of green beans back in the day… geez.

Oh- and I haven’t made official new years resolutions, but I did fill in one on my paper entitled “Big Things Happen One Day At A Time”… get this:  What will I do?  EAT NO SUGAR.  I am highly aware this is insane and I will never be able to check all 365 boxes, but my goal is to do the best I can.  Sugar isn’t my friend.

And because this post is mostly about food, I should mention that I actually bought a monthly planner for the sole purpose of MEAL PLANNING.  *gasp*  See, once upon a time, I was a good cook and did it pretty regularly.  Then, kids came along and with each child, my desire to cook lessened.  But I knew it wasn’t over for good.  I grew up eating family dinner at 5:30 every single evening and I’m so grateful to my mom for that.  I am not holding my breath that we will be eating home cooked meals every single night from here on out, but I do plan to do my best to increase that number monthly.  This week I did THREE IN A ROW…which for many of you might seem insanely not enough, but for me- that’s big.

I am on a spending freeze…frivilous fun spending…it’s been good for me.  I deleted all my favorite store apps from my phone, such as Nordstrom, Gilt, HauteLook, Modcloth, Zara, etc…and unsubscribed to every single store in my inbox which I’ve never ever done.  I have cleaned up my subscriptions many times, but never said goodbye to my favs- it’s been freeing, seriously.  I have so much more time on my hands, lol.

My new chalkboard quote is from John Steinbeck.  “What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness?”  Also it’s my mantra when I have to go out in the cold at 8am for school.

New favorite tv show- Madame Secretary.  It’s on CBS.  SO GOOD.  I’ve had to switch from iTunes to Amazon to CBS to get free episodes, but so far only paid for a couple.  It’s worth it.  So good.  SO GOOD.

For the first time ever, I didn’t put up all the beautiful Christmas cards that arrived.  I keep staring at the stack sadly…and have decided I am going to do the unthinkable (what so many people do) and hang them this month.  I did get a 6 foot wide by 4 foot high bulletin board for our small hallway, and am excited to figure out how to make a wood frame for it.  I envision kids soccer game schedules and favorite art and our sponsor kid’s pictures and cute sayings and so much more hanging all over it…layers and layers.  I can’t wait.  I bought googly-eye tacks for it (before my spending freeze started).

I am SO EXCITED for our christmas packages to arrive.  My dearest and best mom packed up all the gifts we couldn’t fit in our suitcases, which was pretty much all of the gifts, and mailed them to us.  I’ve heard a rumor they will arrive tomorrow- it’ll be like Christmas all over again.  YESSS!  I really need to go through the play room before we bring out all the new toys…shoot…another item on the to-do list.

Trivia Crack.  It’s a free app and it’s fun.  My sister introduced me to it, and I only play her…but I’d be willing to play a few others if you download it.  It’s simply trivia, in different categories- but it’s oddly satisfying.

because, well- she's beautiful.  Props to my sister for getting Maya to stand still AND find perfect light.

because, well- she’s beautiful. Props to my sister for getting Maya to stand still AND find perfect light.

I bought a huge poster board and titled it “REGAN goes POTTY”.  Yep, even bought treats and stickers.  I have no hype whatsoever, because, well, I know how well that went with Josiah for too long… but I’m gonna give it my best shot next week.  Josiah has promised to be my assistant (for which he thinks he’ll receive treats too) and at least he’ll provide me a tad bit of sanity amongst the long days ahead.

Ok.  My littlest is still awake so I’m gonna go watch her entertain herself.  Night!

Leave a Reply

