what is my prize

One of my goals for this year was to choose one book of the Bible to focus on in depth for the year.  Of course, I will read other parts but each year God highlights one book in particular and it helps me truly get to know that book well.

I Corinthians is my book for 2016.  I admit to being slightly bummed when He told me, but after reading through it so far I’m grateful.  God is always faithful to make His words jump off the pages and pierce my heart in new ways.

I Corinthians 9:24 “Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize?  Run in such a way that you may obtain it.”

As I read this passage, Holy Spirit challenged me with a question- What is your prize?  Ultimately, we are all running for the same prize, but I felt like He personalized it for me in such a way that I felt compelled to answer.  A lot of my time with Him lately has been focused on my major goal to lose 100 pounds this year, and I love how it’s all interwoven.  In the margin of my Bible near this verse, I wrote long ago- “If you wanna get big, pick up something heavy.”  Quite literally, as you know, when a weightlifter wants to grow their muscle, they choose heavier weights.  I want to be a mighty warrior in God.  I don’t want to be pushed down at the slightest defeat and swayed by the littlest of lies.  And so I realized that this year, God put a massive weight in front of me- a very long race (though one year is a blip in the whole scheme of things).  Losing 100 pounds will not be easy or simple or quick, but it’s going to be worth it, mostly because it’s not just about the losing.

It’s about the prize.  It’s about what happens to that muscle when I continually say yes to Jesus and no to the enemy and my flesh.  I prayed about what my prize is, in this season of my life, in this race I’m running today.  First, winning more revelation of His love and who He is would be the greatest outcome of this journey.  I long to know God more and love Him well.  Second, conquering my health and overcoming the enemies constant lying in the midst of this specific battle.  Third, I look forward to the prize of greater BELIEF and understanding of His power in me- that if we can do this race, what else is He going to do in and through me?  And Lord willing, I will have SO MUCH MORE faith to go further with Jesus than ever before.  This one ties into the last prize- being more confident to walk in the things He calls me to, with joy and fearlessness.

This excites me for so many reasons, but mostly because I see freedom as my finish line.  And that alone would be enough for me to diligently run.  Yet the Lord in His kindness loves to reward us.  He has laid out all these special prizes just for me and my challenge to you is to ask Him what race you’re running right now and what prizes He has already chosen for you.

Because let’s face it.  I’ve always been a rewards kinda gal and thankfully I know God is a rewards kinda guy.  Don’t believe me?  Go ask Him.

Leave a Reply

