where are they now

I’ve been wanting to write this post for awhile but knew it would take a bit of time to articulate.  My hope is to do this post every few months so I can look back in a few years and remember the random funny idiosyncrasies of each kiddo at this point in time.

josCurrently, Josiah is 5 3/4 and has a birthday countdown…only 3 months until June 4 and we have already planned most of his dino-riffic party in which at first he wanted to invite his whole class (which he said was 30 people- it’s 14) but then decided he’d rather have his family and one other friend at his pool…with all things dino of course.   We’ve logged many a moment on amazon checking out everything from t-rex plates to inflatable teradactyls.  It’s grand.  I smile so proudly at my first born’s love for his birthday, it’s simply the best!  On another note, but still dinosaur related- he was chosen as star of the week in his kindergarten class which led to grueling (for him) homework…such as writing letters.  I jest.  But seriously the kid either whips through school work or dreads it like the plague, tho this particular assignment was painful.  He had to choose his favorite foods, things to do, what he wanted to be when he grew up, etc.  Thankfully he loves favorites like me, but almost everything had a smattering of dino.  My favorite answer was that he wants to be a Dino Expert (not paleontologist) with a focus on their skin.  Huh?  Lastly, I’m kinda sad that he has given up on his rainbow phase.  I seriously loved seeing all of his coloring include rainbows- all 7 colors always- he’s very precise.  I did see him putting his dino fruit snacks in rainbow order yesterday, so I suppose there are still smatterings of that obsession left.

reganRegan is 4 1/2 right now and has chosen to simply be a dinosaur.   It’s hilarious to watch his transformation from boy to Allosaurus, which often comes when you least expect it.  He enjoys following his brother’s obsessions but I love to watch his take on everything.  It’s so blindingly different than Josiah’s.  He is so funny.  I think he knows his power over us.  I love the way he uses adult phrases in random conversation where it doesn’t even make sense.  And over the past few weeks he has embraced the beginnings of spring with earlier and earlier wake-ups in the morning- his defense: it’s light out.  Well, I took care of that this week and Regan is now the proud owner of a giant art installation in his room that kinda looks like the Black Hole.  I tacked/taped giant black garbage bags over all his windows (see pic above) in the hopes that he would return to his 7: something wake ups, albeit still too early for yours truly, but at least doable.  Sure enough, the next morning I woke up with a smile on my face WITH my alarm clock instead of a certain loud mouth bass named Regan. I love him so much more at 7:15am it turns out.  Lastly, this kid is a rockin’ eater.  Some mornings I will make him 5 eggs and an hour later he’s eating 3 yogurts.  He can down an entire pork roll and cheese sandwich no problem, and begs for all sorts of random stuff…pistachios and mac-n-cheese being two of his top choices.

ry=400Maya is 2 and so so cute right now, minus her hair which sadly is just a hot mess.  She faithfully follows around her brothers (mostly Regan) and mostly does everything they do. She loves looking at books now and when I can’t find her, she’s usually sitting on a pillow flipping through a book.  She chooses one big book to obsess over for a few months- her latest choice being a Space one and I’m proud to say she can name all the planets plus other random outer space goodies all on her own.  Her voice is the cutest…and we all get a kick out of it.  Her brothers are always amazed when she talks to them, it’s like they’ve only known her as the baby and now she’s becoming a real person.  Ha!  Last week she graduated to a big girl bed- a very high (unintentional- oops) twin bed covered in pink and flamingos.  I’m in love.  We weren’t sure if she would be though, since her “bed of choice” lately has been the floor.  Literally.  (see picture above)  We’d put her in her converted crib every night and always find her asleep on the floor in the morning, so I just started putting her on the floor in the evening.  Thankfully though, she loves her bed.  I haven’t taken pictures yet but I will soon.  Lastly, she still loves cliff bars and snacks on anything pretty much all day, every day.  She still cries whenever anyone closes a door near her and she desperately wants to ride her brother’s bikes, even though she can’t even reach the pedals.

I marvel at how different our three kids are.

Take mornings for instance: on school days I have to literally dress Josiah with his eyes still closed.  He’s a straight-up teenage boy who doesn’t want to get out of bed.  Thankfully he does move around somewhat so I am not trying to dress a dead-weight manikin but honestly it’s easier to do myself than try and wake him up enough.  He is totally capable of dressing himself, but at the early hour of 7:30am he goes about as fast as a slug trapped by a log.  And since I have about 22 minutes total allotted for us in the morning, time is of the essence.  On the other hand, Regan rarely ever has to be woken up but either way, the instant one eye is opened he roars to life like a turbo engine.  The volume goes straight to loud but he’s always so happy and sweet in those early hours, it’s precious.  He’s the sole morning person in our home- bless.  And Maya prefers to wake up slowly, so I usually let her ruminate til 9am in her room alone, if she doesn’t have to traipse along to school drop-off.  If I go in too soon, she’s liable to be a tad grumpy for a few minutes or just really snuggly (which I enjoy) but if she’s had the proper amount of time, she’s a giggly sweetheart in the morning.

Evenings are so different too.  We start bedtime around 6pm and are always done before 7pm.  It’s for our own sanity.  Each kid doesn’t mind bedtime but Josiah will stay awake for hours sometimes.  He reads, he plays, he begs for food and snuggles…seriously, his favorite thing to do is sneak in and ask if I feel like cuddling or no.  It’s so hard to resist, so I rarely do.  Regan, after his initial “I have to go poooooooottttty and I’m huuuuuuuuuungry” falls asleep within minutes most nights.  He always snuggles up with his comforter on his side and there must be a switch in his brain he just clicks and woosh…snoring.  And Maya…I actually don’t know what exactly she does before falling asleep, but I think it involves taking a little inventory of her whole room (which is pretty empty these days) and then she snuggles in with her blankie (our only kiddo who needs one).  She rubs the corners and sometimes bites them too…thankfully we have 5 different ones, so our little Linus is never without.

Darn, my time has run out.  School pick-up is beckoning.

 

2 responses to “where are they now

  1. Ohhh this makes me so happy!! Miss these littles so much! That picture of Maya on the floor is seriously priceless. hilarious.

  2. I really enjoy the deep knowledge you have of your individual kids. It is very priceless. What an exceptional gift to give them when they are older! Proud to know you!

Leave a Reply

