goodbye summer

It’s the last day of August and I’m not sure how I got here.  Today I stared out the window as our pool closed (I know, it’s early- I blame the ban on swimming after surgery) and wondered how in the world summer is gone.  I think it was just yesterday that I was writing up schedules and chore charts and ordering boardies and swimsuits to wear endlessly through the glorious season of summer.

I slept in almost every single day this summer.  I’m memorializing this because it was indeed one of the grandest things that happened.  Sure, I could recount all the wonderful memories of the last few months, but I have photos for that.  What I don’t have any record of is the fact that I got to sleep in A LOT.  I love sleep, possibly more than most other things.  Just bein’ honest.

This week is so weird.  My parents left on Sunday and it was sad to see them go, as always, but less painful this time because we know we’ll get to be with them in a few months.  Then yesterday our two boys went to the hospital for umbilical hernia repairs- something they were born with and had been on our radar to fix- but was pushed up quickly when we realized we don’t know how our insurance will look next month.  They did great…Regan actually much more chill than Josiah, but given their personalities, it actually wasn’t quite a shock.  And a day later, Jos still walks like an old man, hunched over with a grimace, while Regan is running around like lunatic and has to be reminded he just had surgery 24 hours ago- chill out.  Alas.

And then today I stared at the school supply lists, so thankful I had decided to tackle them early and everything we needed was downstairs, but it hit me that school is starting- next week?!  Part of me isn’t ready at all to give up this freedom, and part of me is so ready to embrace a schedule and routines.  I mean, I haven’t quite set up the homework station or anything crazy like that, but at least I’m half there, in my mind.

I’m sure all of you are wondering how my grand sticker system and schedule worked out…ok, I know probably not one of you remembered I actually did that.  I’ll be honest, I pinned every paper on our bulletin board, explained the whole dealio to the boys and pretty much the only thing I used all summer was the sticker system and not very regularly.  The schedule was completely pointless in the end because I realized, the whole point of summer is to not follow a schedule and it turns out, I’m really good at that.  We swam when we wanted to, beached it when we felt like it, snuggled up and watched movies whenever, had friends over, tackled special activities, baked, shopped…nothing was particularly scheduled and I loved it.  I love not having to be anywhere at any certain time.

But all good things must end for a time, right?  I can look forward to next summer- where I won’t bother with a schedule but I might try another sticker chart.

Currently I’m resisting the urge to remove all hints of spring/summer that cover my home at the moment…but soon, I will be quieting the place (I stole that from The Nester) and getting my mind ready to embrace the Fall.  I love sitting in bare, undecorated rooms for a few days…it builds up my anticipation and creativity.  I know, I’m weird.

So long summer.  It’s been an especially good one this year.  Thank you.

I’ll leave you with my all-time favorite pic of the summer…

dsc_0043

…in case you’re wondering- thats husband, son, my dad, and son. *crying w laughter*

Leave a Reply

