the sun is shining, the tank is clean

Well.  It’s been awhile.  For many reasons today feels like a very good day.  The sun is out and it’s not raining incessantly…all my kids are back in school after two days home…I don’t have classes on fridays…i already drank starbucks and started a load of laundry…my house is so beautifully quiet… it could be any of those reasons.

I’m itching to go purchase some tiny house plants that will probably only last a few months- but for less than the cost of a bunch of flowers, it’s a good deal.  My house is covered in snow memorabilia and it’s almost time for the great switch.  I saved a anthropologie gift card for two months (definitely a record!) and then bought cute spring colored planters and a mug.  It’s time.

School is over in two months!  Well, for me it is.  Hallelujah!  I’ve been able to get ahead on my homework which means I have more time to read books that I want to read.  My favs in the last few months have been Becoming by Michelle Obama (so not political), Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris (as you would imagine, gut wrenching and beautiful), Switch on Your Brain: the Key to Happiness, Thinking, and Health by Caroline Leaf (fascinating, haven’t finished yet but all about making good brain paths), and The Very Worst Missionary by Jamie Wright (hilarious, probably offensive to some, loved her realness).  Next up on my list to read is Educated by Tara Westover, Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love by Dani Shapiro, and Profound Good: See God through a Lens of His Love by Blake Healy who also wrote one of my favorite God books in the world- The Veil.

So yesterday marked two days in a row where all my kiddos were home from school- only one was really sick but I have a hard time taking the rest of them when I could sleep in.  The best thing happened though- I had time and desire (two keys) to do a fun mindless craft yesterday.  I made yarn garlands (click for tutorial– tho I made mine less thick bc I think they are cuter that way).  I bought the materials two months ago.  Speaking of which, I also bought a paint-by-number and haven’t touched it yet.  Geez.

In other favorites news… best EP I’ve heard in forever- Praise Before My Breakthrough by the Torwalts.  Seriously on repeat so much in my car that even my kids are ready for something new.  Also I have a new favorite podcast as well- The Connected Life by Justin and Abi Stumvoll.  And lastly my latest obsession is Glossier make up, however I don’t even own any yet.  It just looks so beautiful and the internet stalks me with it constantly.  I realize it’s a bit odd that I am obsessed with something I don’t own…I’m sorry, I’m weird.

And because this post is full of randomness… last weekend we rented Ralph Breaks The Internet (which is cute) but the best part was when my dearest little five year old daughter started crying near the end.  It was the kind of cry that it is the sweetest- where her breath was caught between sobs and her eyes got really sad.  OMYWORD I couldn’t handle it.  That girl feels big, just when you least expect her to.  Love.

Lastly, I think my enneagram phase is over.  Ha.  Typical 7.  Don’t get me wrong, I value the whole thing immensely and will gladly discuss it with anyone but I’m tired of the craze.  Give me the next thing world.

 

 

One response to “the sun is shining, the tank is clean

  1. Look at you go with all the links!! 😉 Love the post– can’t wait to listen to the EP! Love you sister!

Leave a comment