Welcome to the family

Welp, to say I’m not blogging much these days would be an understatement. But, I could not skip over a major addition to our family even though it’s been two months already.

I knew it would take us awhile to grieve Brinks, but I also was pretty sure we would get a puppy again one day. In the spring I started looking but it wasn’t until I randomly asked one of my book club members where she got her dog, that I found ours…the last one of the litter, an incredible price and perfect timing.

Sooooo we got a golden retriever puppy in August! Her name is Maggie!! We drove to the middle of nowhere North Carolina, an hour out of Charlotte, to a small farm. It seemed rather sweet and poetic that we had picked up Brinks as a puppy from a farm in Kansas. I was nervous about the five hour drive home, but she did so well- no accidents and we only stopped twice. None of us stopped exclaiming her adorableness the entire way.

She is the sweetest fluff ball. It’s been a lot of work, but thankfully we are hitting our stride and enjoying her so much. Most of her puppy teeth have fallen out, hallelujah! She loves snacking on mulch, much to Bart’s chagrin… but she’s so fun loving and snuggly (if you hold her really tight lol). Mags, Magsies, Maggie Bear, Magdalena, (she gets called Brinks a lot too- mostly by me) are a few of her nicknames.

This is the kids’ first time with a puppy, so it’s been fun to watch how they respond to her. Maya literally exclaims how cute she is twenty times a day…every time she sees her. Regan is her playmate; endlessly running and throwing a ball with her. And Josiah is tender and peaceful…they have staring contests laying on the ground together. We all love her in our own special ways- it’s so amazing.

Welcome to the family, Maggie. You are so loved.

Leave a comment